The Federation Against Copyright Theft (FACT) today awarded 16 cinema staff from across the country with cash rewards, recognising their role in distrupting or stopping attempts to record films in movie theatres.

award winners

FACT cinema award winners November 2009

At a ceremony in central London, awards of up to £300 were made – matched in each case by their cinema company – to the following cinema staff:

  • Sevda Feltham – Empire Bromley
  • Jack Coombes & Charlotte Simper – Vue Eastleigh
  • Jack Firth – Vue Staines
  • Dominika Walczyk – Showcase Wood Green
  • Jack James – Vue Northampton
  • John Mcfadden & Alison Cooper – Vue Leicester
  • Simon White – Cineworld Bedford
  • Kirsty Blakie – Vue Leeds Light
  • Stephanie Crossan – Odeon Uxbridge
  • Alan Kirsten – Vue Croydon Grants
  • Gemma Hudson – Odeon Uxbridge
  • John Lyle – Cineworld Cambridge
  • Rebecca Ellis-Hood – Vue Sheffield
  • Rupert Greig – Cineworld Brighton

Welcoming this latest round of awards, CEA Chief Executive Phil Clapp said:

‘All of those receiving cash rewards today have played a key role in helping to ensure that UK cinemas remain at the forefront of the fight against film theft. The CEA offers each its warmest congratulations to each of them and to FACT and their respective companies for helping to recognise their efforts.’

Further information on the industry strategy to tackle this problem can be found at: