Harry Potter and The King’s Speech were the big winners at last night’s National Movie Awards ceremony at London’s Wembley Arena.

Hosted by Christine Bleakley in front of an audience packed with excited cinema-goers, the event went out live to an audience of millions on ITV1.

The Awards, which followed nationwide voting in cinemas and online across the UK in April, recognised those films and film actors that the cinema-going public liked the most in the last year.

James McAvoy and Bonnie Wright

James McAvoy and Bonnie Wright

Harry Potter won in the ‘Fantasy’ category, where Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1 took the award, and in the ‘Must See Movie of the Summer’ where the eagerly-awaited sequel Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 topped the votes. Star Bonnie Wright and producers David Heyman and David Barron were there on the night.

The King’s Speech won not only under the ‘Drama’ category and ‘Performance of the Year’ for Colin Firth, but also triumphed in collecting the ‘Special Recognition’ award, presented to star Geoffrey Rush by Gwynneth Paltrow.

The Awards also recognised a long and hugely varied career in the movies by giving a ‘Screen Icon’ award to Johnny Depp. Geoffrey Rush was there to collect it for his Pirates of the Caribbean co-star.

The full list of NMA winners for the evening were:

  • Drama – Sherlock Holmes
  • Comedy – Paul
  • Fantasy – Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1
  • Animation Tangled
  • Must See Movie of the Summer – Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2
  • One to Watch – Jamie Campbell-Bower
  • Performance of the Year – Colin Firth
  • Screen Icon – Johnny Depp
  • Special Recognition – The King’s Speech